Self enquiry: knowing yourself, your true nature, and the way out of fear.

Self enquiry: knowing yourself, your true nature and the way out of fear.

I’ve found a path, a path which I’ve been practicing all along my whole life unknowingly. A path of self enquiry, to face your deepest fears, to go deeper within to find your true nature, a path taught by Ramana Maharshi and now passed onto Mooji.

I’ve done vipassana and some yoga before, but i could never maintain the practices as i was stricken with fear. fear or stress was blocking everything out. So, these days, my main focus had been to face my fears, and i was still struggling a bit ‘cos when I went too deep, the pressure was so deep that I felt I could die, and I had to back off ‘cos I didnt know what to do then. I then saw the video of mooji alongside sadhguru videos, and he talks about the fear of death being the main obstacle in the process of self enquiry, and gives an example of ramana maharshi who himself overcame his panic attack at the age of 16 and conquered death ‘cos only body dies, not your true nature. So, this is a great motivation to go deeper, to keep doing what I’ve been doing.

We all have anxieties and issues, but that is nature’s compassionate way of giving us the moment to transcend them. You cannot overcome something unless its there. Its nature’s way of reminding you, your true nature. You are more than what you think of yourself. Raman maharishi had a panic attack at the age of 16, and he conquered death, then and there. So, it was the best thing that could happen to him. All our fears, the anxieties, the panic attacks, the crisis of any kind, we can turn it into a great blessing, if we know how to handle it. Therefore, use every opportunity for your growth. Nothing is problem. Everything is a possility, a stepping stone to the ultimate. Its about having the right perspective.

Similarly, nobody wants sufferings and deaths, but without them, there would be no Buddha.

Its becoming clearer that self enquiry is the ultimate answer to the world full of miseries and fears, as you tackle issues head on. No need to learn new techniques. You deal with whatever crops up in your mind, in a calm way by observing and not reacting to them. You are a witness. You can practice anywhere without going anywhere. You just go in. Observe the observer.

It comes naturally to me. Its something that i’ve always been doing, but now i’ve a purpose with a greater clarity and an opportunity to conquer death itself. My fears will be my transcendance, a blessing.

Self enquiry is very direct and straight. You face your true self and try to come out of fears and anxieties. Vipasana didnt help me to overcome my fear. It just led me to that situation, where my own effort helped me. That deep situation could also have been created with self enquiry, by going deeper within.

Self enquiry is the good starting place for everybody, ‘cos once you have mastery of the mind, then you can do other practices with more ease. I’ve seen many people struggle with their practices, especially vipassana, and abandon it ‘cos of their weak mind. There is no proper guidance, and self enquiry will fill that gap, ‘cos you face your fears head on.

With other practices, you are mainly multitasking as you try to face your fears and remember your practice techniques at the same time, which was my problem.

There is too much stress and fears in the world today as we rely primarily on the mind, and self enquiry will be the best approach in dealing permanently with problems and helping people come out of misery. Also, the modern world is all about instant and shortcut. And self enquiry is that shortcut to spirituality, to enlightenment. A direct way.

I’ve lots of tensions in body due to fear and my body used to shake vigorously during vipassana meditations, and they had no answers to it. But I continued with it ‘cos I was facing my fears, and body shaking was a way of tensions leaving my body and I felt lighter. And self enquiry talks about it. So, my answer has finally been confirmed. I think there are others in vipassana whose body shakes. I know another person whose did. So, this will of great help to many people.

Self enquiry is my path, and will likely become the path of others, ‘cos it comes naturally to every human without making any effort, and you dont have to learn any different technique to face what you have been facing all along. If you can be calm and be a witness to your mind, then you will naturally go deeper. you dont have to look for problems. They are always there. Isnt it why we try to seek escape from it? So, the problem is always there to be faced, its just that we are not willing, and spend our whole lives running away from it by seeking some sort of entertainment, to keep our mind busy and occupied, which doesnt really solve the problems. It only prolongs the miseries.

I will now be practicing self enquiry everyday and get over the fear of death, like ramana maharshi did. As you go deeper inside, you realise that its the fear of the death, which is the main underlying fear, fear of something dying, the cause of all the sufferings. The basis of fear is ego and the body, and the need to preserve and protect them, and when you go deeper, you realise that you are not any of them, and the fear is gone forever.

In spirituality, we loosely use the term to look within, and self enquiry, best captures that essence of spirituality, in its simplicity. No techniques whatsoever.

Self enquiry is the starting point for me, but it may not be the only path. Everything is interconnected to each other, and there are many spiritual paths in the world. Therefore, I want to build a bridge that connects them all, and bring them all together, by exploring various paths. I want to bring some order on this wild, chaotic path of spirituality, so that there is something for everybody and people dont need to feel lost in order to find their true calling. If yoga is the ultimate union, then I will see it for myself. This is my way of bringing peace, harmony and spirituality to the whole world. i want to turn the whole world spiritual by reaching out to every individual. Only then can we have real lasting world peace, for true peace begins with individuals.

For those interested, its best to watch the youtube videos on mooji, especially on fears. he also gives online satsangs from time to time. there is a Facebook group of mooji sangha of various cities, and you can join, interact and get together for satsangs.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

